fellows-medals.480.320.sThe American Academy of Political and Social Science has inducted six eminent scholars as 2014 Fellows of the Academy.

The AAPSS inducts a handful of Fellows each year in recognition of their contributions to the improvement of society through research and influence over public policy.  Since the founding of its Fellows program in 2000, AAPSS has inducted 93 distinguished scholars and public servants as Fellows.

The 2014 Fellows of the Academy are:

Janet Currie, an economist whose work has centered on the health and well-being of children. She is the Henry Putnam Professor of Economics and Public Affairs and Director of the Center for Health and Well-Being at Princeton University and also the Director of the Program on Families and Children at the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER).

Greg Duncan, whose research explores early intervention programs for children and how children’s behaviors and skills at a young age impact their longer-term well-being. He is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Education at the University of California, Irvine, and an adjunct faculty member at the Institute for Policy Research at Northwestern University.

Kathryn Edin, a sociologist whose work has focused on social welfare, urban poverty, nonmarital childbearing and family life. She is a Professor in the Department of Sociology at the Johns Hopkins Krieger School of Arts and Sciences.

Alan Gerber, a political scientist who has gathered empirical data on campaign and fundraising programs and has applied experimental methods to the study of campaign communications. He is the Charles C. and Dorathea S. Dilley Professor of Political Science and the Director of the Center for the Study of American Politics at Yale University.

Heidi Hartmann, an economist who is founder and President of the Institute for Women’s Policy Research, a research organization in Washington, D.C. Her work addresses the effects of public policy on women’s lives and on their participation and engagement in the labor force.

Daniel Nagin, a criminologist who uses statistical methods to analyze criminal and antisocial behavior over the course of individuals’ lives. He is the Teresa and H. John Heinz III University Professor of Public Policy and Statistics and Associate Dean of Faculty of the Heinz College, Carnegie Mellon University.

“We’re very pleased that each of these extraordinarily accomplished individuals will join the Academy this year,” said Douglas Massey, a Princeton sociologist who is President of the AAPSS. “Each has made essential contributions to our understanding of how American society functions and whether our public policies act in the common good.  They are distinguished public servants and scholars, and we are privileged to have them among us.” Currie, Duncan, Edin, Gerber, Hartmann, and Nagin officially joined the Academy on May 8, 2014, in a ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window