AAPSS, Fellows|

[vc_row][vc_column width=”2/3″][vc_column_text]

William Julius Wilson Receives 2013 Moynihan Prize

William Julius Wilson Receives 2013 Moynihan Prize

The Academy’s sixth annual Moynihan Prize Ceremony was held in Washington, DC, on the evening of May 9, 2013. William Julius Wilson, the Lewis P. and Linda L. Geyser University Professor at Harvard University, received the 2013 prize. Wilson was introduced by Douglas Massey, president of AAPSS and Henry G. Bryant Professor of Sociology and Public Affairs at Princeton University.

Earlier in the day on May 9, Wilson gave the inaugural Daniel Patrick Moynihan Lecture on Social Science and Public Policy.

Last year‚Äôs gala dinner was held at the Newseum, with more than 100 guests in attendance. Guests included, among others, the late senator‚Äôs daughter Maura Moynihan; Lawrence O‚ÄôDonnell, host of ‚ÄúThe Last Word with Lawrence O‚ÄôDonnell‚ÄĚ; Robert Greenstein, founder and president of the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities (and the 2010 Moynihan Prize recipient); Katherine Wallman, chief statistician at the U.S. Office of Management and Budget; and Kathleen Hall Jamieson, director of the Annenberg Public Policy Center at the University of Pennsylvania.

The Daniel Patrick Moynihan Prize was created by the Academy in 2007 to pay tribute to one of its most distinguished Fellows. It recognizes social scientists, public officials, and civic leaders who champion the use of informed judgment to advance the public good.

Daniel Patrick Moynihan was a consummate and car­ing political leader. His acute intelligence and compassion were a gift to public service and to our country. Honoring the memory of Senator Moynihan through a prize that bears his name reminds us of our shared values and goals and promotes bipartisan so­lutions to the challenges that face our country.

Induction of the 2013 Class of Fellows

The same evening the Academy inducted four scholar as the 2013 class of Fellows in recognition of their scholarly contributions to the social sciences, their efforts to communicate that scholarship to audiences beyond their own disciplines, and their commitment to improving public policy with research.

The four 2013 Fellows include:

Norman Bradburn (NORC, University of Chicago), David Card (University of California, Berkeley), Elizabeth Garrett (University of Southern California), and Robert Hauser (National Research Council).

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″][mk_image_slideshow title=”William Julius Wilson Receives 2013 Moynihan Prize” images=”1838,1839,1840,1841,1842,1843,1844″ image_width=”1000″ image_height=”500″][mk_image_slideshow title=”Induction of the 2013 Class of Fellows” images=”1852,1853,1854,1855,1856,1857,1858,1859,1860,1861,1862,1863,1864,1865,1866″ image_width=”493″ image_height=”241″][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window