AAPSS, Fellows|

collage.480.311.s (1)The Academy has selected four scholar/public servants to become Fellows in 2013. A small group of Fellows is inducted each year in recognition of their scholarly contributions to the social sciences, their efforts to communicate that scholarship to audiences beyond their own disciplines, and their commitment to improving public policy with research.

The four 2013 Fellows are:

Dr. Norman Bradburn, a social psychologist whose work has focused on psychological well-being and assessments of quality of life, particularly through the use of large-scale surveys. He is the Tiffany and Margaret Blake Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus at the University of Chicago and Senior Fellow of the National Opinion Research Center.

Dr. David Card, a labor economist whose work has illuminated virtually all areas of that field and understandings of the economy writ large. He is the Class of 1950 Professor of Economics at the University of California–Berkeley and Director of the Labor Studies Program at the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER).

Elizabeth Garrett, J.D., a scholar in law and politics who has done extensive work on direct democracy, tax and welfare reform, and statutory interpretation. She is a former clerk to Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall and is currently Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs at the University of Southern California.

Dr. Robert Hauser, a sociologist who has done wide-ranging research on social stratification, aging, and social statistics. He is Executive Director of the National Research Council’s Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education and was formerly the Vilas Research Professor of Sociology at the University of Wisconsin–Madison.

All four Fellows will officially join the Academy at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. on May 9, 2013, bringing the total number of Fellows to 94. For a list of current Academy Fellows, please visit Fellows of the Academy.

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window