Fellows, News, Press Releases|


PHILADELPHIA, Pa. (March 13, 2024) – The American Academy of Political and Social Science (AAPSS) will welcome eight scholars as 2024 fellows this fall. The AAPSS selects a small group of scholars and public intellectuals to become fellows of the academy each year, recognizing their contributions to social science and the extent to which their work has deepened public understanding of social dynamics.

“At this pivotal moment in our nation’s democracy, we must look to social science thought leaders to help us reimagine American world leadership and secure economic opportunity for future generations,” said Marta Tienda, AAPSS president. “It is a privilege to welcome another highly accomplished cohort of social scientists as fellows of the AAPSS, and it is especially gratifying to award inaugural fellowships in memory of Academy Fellows James S. Jackson, Sara McLanahan, and Roger Wilkins, as well as Moynihan Prize recipient Rebecca Blank.”

The 2024 Fellows of the AAPSS are as follows.

Jason DeParle is a senior writer for The New York Times whose extensive work on poverty and immigration has informed policy discussions on those topics and enlivened public debate by extensively drawing on social research. DeParle is the AAPSS’s inaugural Roger Wilkins Fellow. 

John T. Jost is Professor of Psychology and Politics and codirector of the Center for Social and Political Behavior at New York University. His research blends psychology and political science and has influenced the way scholars think about ideology and the psychological underpinnings of political worldviews. Jost is the AAPSS’s inaugural James S. Jackson Fellow.

Tracey Meares is Walton Hale Hamilton Professor of Law at Yale Law School and founding director of the Justice Collaboratory. An expert on policing and public safety in urban communities, she has made fundamental contributions to both scholarship and practice in the criminal legal system. Meares is the AAPSS’s 2024 Thorsten Sellin Fellow. 

Samuel L. Myers, Jr., is a professor of economics and director of the Roy Wilkins Center for Human Relations and Social Justice at the Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota. His research and teaching have made the study of racial inequality essential to understanding policy, and policy analysis essential to the teaching of African American studies. Myers is the AAPSS’s inaugural Rebecca Blank Fellow.

Betsy Levy Paluck is Eugene Higgins Professor of Psychology and Public Affairs at Princeton University. Her research has illuminated our understanding of important concerns like prejudice reduction and the development of social norms in real-world settings such as post-conflict societies and schools. Paluck is the AAPSS’s 2024 David Riesman Fellow. 

Dietram A. Scheufele is the Taylor-Bascom Chair in Science Communication and Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. His research analyzes the interplay of political communication and democratic decision-making and includes study of the societal impacts of algorithmically-curated information and disinformation. Scheufele is the AAPSS’s 2024 Harold Lasswell Fellow.

Florencia Torche is a sociologist, a renowned scholar of Latin American social inequality and mobility, and a leading voice in the debate over the changing role of education in the intergenerational transmission of social advantage in the U.S. She is Dunlevie Family Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences at Stanford University. Torche is the AAPSS’s inaugural Sara McLanahan Fellow. 

Janelle Wong is the director of the Asian American Studies Program at the University of Maryland, where she is also a professor of American studies, government, and politics. She has produced pathbreaking research on Asian American public opinion, religion and immigrant integration, and the civic engagement of immigrant populations. Wong is the AAPSS’s 2024 W.E.B. Du Bois Fellow. 

A complete list of AAPSS Fellows is available here.

Tom Kecskemethy, Executive Director
The American Academy of Political and Social Science


Established in 1889, the American Academy of Political and Social Science promotes the use of social science in the public domain and in policymaking. Its flagship journal, The ANNALS of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, brings together scholars and policymakers from across social science disciplines to address issues such as democratic vulnerability, the opioid crisis, and the future impact of the Great Recession.

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window