The American Academy of Political and Social Science is governed by a Board of Directors, which sets broad policies and priorities.The Board includes:

Kenneth Prewitt, President
Carnegie Professor of Public Affairs and Special Advisor to the President, Columbia University

Dominique Brossard
Professor and Chair, life sciences communication, University of Wisconsin

Andrew Cherlin
Benjamin H. Griswold III Professor of Public Policy and Sociology Department Chair, Johns Hopkins University

Janet Currie
Henry Putnam Professor of Economics and Public Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School. Co-Director, Center for Health and Wellbeing, Princeton University

Greg Duncan
Distinguished Professor, School of Education, University of California, Irvine

Claudine Gay
Wilbur A. Cowett Professor of Government and of African and African-American Studies

Sherman James
Susan B. King Professor Emeritus of Public Policy, Duke University

David Leonhardt
Columnist, New York Times

Rebecca Maynard, Chair
University Trustee Professor of Education and Social Policy , University of Pennsylvania

Suzanne Mettler
The John L. Senior Professor of American Institutions, Cornell University

Mary Ann MeyersSecretary
Senior Fellow, The John Templeton Foundation

Dorothy E. Roberts
George A. Weiss University Professor of Law and Sociology and the Raymond Pace and Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander Professor of Civil Rights, University of Pennsylvania

Mary Waters
John L. Loeb Professor of Sociology, Harvard University